Spark Seeker

Spark Seeker
TitleSpark Seeker
Publication TypeAudiovisual (CD/DVD)
Year of Publication2012
PublisherFallen Sparks Records
Publication LanguageEnglish
Keywordsexperimental, Global Hip Hop, Reggae
Copies at the Archive1
  1. Crossroads (feat. J. Ralph)
  2. Sunshine
  3. Searchin
  4. Buffalo Soldier (feat. Shyne)
  5. Fire of Freedom
  6. Bal Shem Tov
  7. I Believe in Love
  8. Breathe Easy
  9. Summer Wind
  10. Live Like A Warrior
  11. Tel Avivn
  12. King Crown of Judah (feat. Shyne and Ravid Kahalani)
  13. Shine on You

Matisyahu blasts off with his 4th album Spark Seeker, produced by Kool Kojack (Nicki Minaj, Travis Barker, Ke$ha). This bold new studio album finds the one-of-a-kind vocalist and songwriter exploring uncharted territory with help from an expansive cast of collaborators. My musical tastes are all over the board, he says in reference to a record that mixes ancient traditional sounds with futuristic electro beats, rapping with singing, songs of the spirit with songs of the body. My music is about searching out inspiration wherever it lies. This album is about seeking that spark within. 

Since first emerging on the international stage in 2005, Matisyahu has established a reputation for transcending boundaries- from the stripped-down roots reggae of the gold-certified Live at Stubb s to the trippy ministrations of the Grammy nominated Youth to the polished pop eclecticism of Light. Then, in 2010, he returned to the venerable Austin venue that introduced him for Live at Stubb s, Vol. II, demonstrating that all of his travels had only strengthened his connection to his musical bedrock. Selling over 2 million albums worldwide, it was a whirlwind half-decade journey, one that earned Matisyahu a place in pop culture at large.